Max Teszler is awarded a Goldwater Scholarship

Maxwell Teszler '23 is a recipient of the Goldwater Scholarship.  He will work with Prof. Mary Lou Guerinot to invesitgate how plants take up the iron, an essential nutrient for human health.  Iron deficiency is a serious global health issue.  Increasing iron uptake in elidible foods will be an important tool for reducing iron deficiency in the human population.

Max also is this year's winner of the Biology France L. Town Scientific Prize for his academic excellence, his research in Professor Guerinot's lab and his work as a learning fellow in biology courses.  

Each department of scientific study at Dartmouth awards the Town Prize to one meritorious and deserving student at the end of the sophomore year. This prize was established by the bequest of Francis L. Town, a member of the class of 1856 from Lancaster, New Hampshire. 

Max also won the Chemistry Town Prize.

Previous Town Prize Awardees in Biological Sciences:

Dakota Ma '21

Emma Esterman '20

Arvind Suresh '19

Nicholas Norwitz '18

Hae-Lin Cho '17

Frederik Eriksson '16

Zachary Wood '15

Serena Liu '14

Marissa Lynn '13

Charles Governali '12

John Gerstenberger '11

Keng-Lou Hung '10

Kristine Specht '09

Ha Linh Vu '08

Frederik Hitti '07

Emma Lubin '06

Anna Nowogrodzki '05

A. Clare Gupta '04

Michael Ferrantino '03

Matthew Cheney '02

Miriam Ingber '01

Sheeram Akilesh '00

Sarah Piecuch '99

Brook Brouha  '92