Cramer Seminar Series

The weekly seminar series held during the Fall, Winter and Spring terms.

Background & Philosophy

The weekly seminar series named for R. Melville Cramer (Dartmouth 1877) in honor of his interest in promoting graduate education in biology. Towards this end, graduate students, faculty, and associates are encouraged to invite creative and productive scholars from other institutions to visit the Department of Biological Sciences at Dartmouth College, present an open seminar, and engage in scientific discussions. Visits are typically a couple of days with a seminar on Friday at 4:00 - 5:00 pm, unless otherwise noted. Fall term 2020 seminars are tentatively scheduled for Wednesday at 1:00 - 2:00 pm via Zoom.  A priority of the seminar series is to engage leading scientists from around the world to participate as outside committee members for Ph.D. students in the Department of Biological Sciences. Because interests within the department range from molecules to ecosystems, we also seek guests whose research seminar will be of interest to a diverse community of biologists.

All seminars are held in Room 201 in the Class of 1978 Life Sciences Center unless otherwise noted.  Fall term 2020 seminars will be held via Zoom.

To inquire about scheduling a Cramer Seminar speaker, please contact Prof. Eric Schaller.

 

 

Cramer Series Schedule

Please see the home page events listing for Cramer Series Scheduling or the News and Events page.

Date Time Speaker's Name Topic Host(s)
Wed. 09/16/20 1:00 PM - via Zoom   TBA  
Wed. 09/23/20 1:00 PM - via Zoom   TBA  
Wed. 09/30/20 1:00 PM - via Zoom   TBA  
Wed. 10/07/20 1:00 PM - via Zoom   TBA  
Wed. 10/14/20 1:00 PM - via Zoom   TBA  
Wed. 10/21/20 1:00 PM - via Zoom   TBA  
Wed. 10/28/20 1:00 PM - via Zoom Hold - invitation pending TBA Mike Hoppa
Wed. 11/04/20 1:00 PM - via Zoom Andrew Lang, Memorial University of Newfoundland TBA Olga Zhaxybayeva/Roman Kogay
Fri. 11/13/20 1:00 PM - via Zoom Jesse Barber, Boise State University TBA Hannah ter Hofstede
Wed. 01/06/21 Tentative 1:00 PM - via Zoom   TBA  
Wed. 01/13/21 Tentative 1:00 PM - via Zoom   TBA  
Wed. 01/20/21 Tentative 1:00 PM - via Zoom   TBA  
Wed. 01/27/21 Tentative 1:00 PM - via Zoom   TBA  
Wed. 02/03/21 Tentative 1:00 PM - via Zoom   TBA  
Wed. 02/10/21 Tentative 1:00 PM - via Zoom   TBA  
Wed. 02/17/21 Tentative 1:00 PM - via Zoom   TBA  
Wed. 02/24/21 Tentative 1:00 PM - via Zoom Christophe Leterrier, Aix Marseille University TBA Michael Hoppa
Wed. 03/03/21 Tentative 1:00 PM - via Zoom   TBA  
04/02/21 4:00 PM   TBA  
04/09/21 4:00 PM   TBA  
04/16/21 4:00 PM   TBA  
04/23/21 4:00 PM   TBA  
04/30/21 4:00 PM   TBA  
05/07/21 4:00 PM   TBA  
05/14/21 4:00 PM   TBA  
05/21/21 4:00 PM   TBA  
05/28/21 4:00 PM   TBA