Cramer Seminar Series

The weekly seminar series held during the Fall, Winter and Spring terms.

Background & Philosophy

The weekly seminar series named for R. Melville Cramer (Dartmouth 1877) in honor of his interest in promoting graduate education in biology. Towards this end, graduate students, faculty, and associates are encouraged to invite creative and productive scholars from other institutions to visit the Department of Biological Sciences at Dartmouth College, present an open seminar, and engage in scientific discussions. Visits are typically a couple of days with a seminar on Friday at 4:00 - 5:00 pm, unless otherwise noted. Winter term 2023 in-person seminars will be Fridays at 2:10 pm (unless otherwise noted), location LSC 200.  Zoom seminars TBD.  A priority of the seminar series is to engage leading scientists from around the world to participate as outside committee members for Ph.D. students in the Department of Biological Sciences. Because interests within the department range from molecules to ecosystems, we also seek guests whose research seminar will be of interest to a diverse community of biologists.

All seminars are held in Room 201 in the Class of 1978 Life Sciences Center unless otherwise noted. Winter term 2023 in-person seminar location: LSC 200.

To inquire about scheduling a Cramer Seminar speaker, please contact Prof. Eric Schaller.

 

 

Cramer Series Schedule

Please see the home page events listing for Cramer Series Scheduling or the News and Events page.

Date Time Speaker's Name Topic Host(s)
Fri. 01/06/23 2:10 PM No seminar    
Fri. 01/13/23 2:10 PM No seminar    
Fri. 01/20/23 2:10 PM No seminar    
Fri. 01/27/23 2:10 PM No seminar    
Fri. 02/03/23 2:10 PM No seminar    
Fri. 02/10/23 2:10 PM No seminar    
Fri. 02/17/23 2:10 PM   TBA  
Fri. 02/24/23 2:10 PM   TBA  
Fri. 03/03/23 2:10 PM Marcio Pie, Edge Hill University TBA Ryan Calsbeek
Fri. 03/31/23 2:10 PM Theanne Griffith, UC-Davis Investigating Sodium Channel Function in Peripheral Sensory Neurons Mike Hoppa
Fri. 04/07/23 2:10 PM Qiang Zhuo, IUCN, Dali University A New Model For Wildlife Habitat Protection in Africa Eric Schaller
Fri. 04/14/23 2:10 PM Masayuki Onishi, Duke University TBA Magdalena Bezanilla
Fri. 04/21/23 2:10 PM   TBA  
Fri. 04/28/23 2:10 PM Alex Kwan, Cornell University TBA Robert Hill/Tim Chapman
Fri. 05/05/23 2:10 PM Anna Marie Sokac, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign TBA Jiayang Chen/Bing He
Fri. 05/12/23 2:10 PM HOLD - UG theses TBA  
Fri. 05/19/23 2:10 PM HOLD - UG theses TBA  
Fri. 05/26/23 2:10 PM HOLD - UG theses TBA  
Fri. 09/15/23

2:10 PM Tentative

  TBA  
Fri. 09/22/23 2:10 PM Tentative   TBA  
Fri. 09/29/23 2:10 PM Tentative   TBA  
Fri. 10/06/23 2:10 PM Tentative   TBA  

Fri. 10/13/23

2:10 PM Tentative HOLD - pending hotel TBA  
Fri. 10/20/23 2:10 PM Tentative HOLD - pending hotel - Homecoming TBA  
Fri. 10/27/23 2:10 PM Tentative   TBA  
Fri. 11/03/23 2:10 PM Tentative   TBA  
Fri. 11/10/23 2:10 PM Tentative   TBA