Cramer Seminar Series

The weekly seminar series held during the Fall, Winter and Spring terms.

Background & Philosophy

The weekly seminar series named for R. Melville Cramer (Dartmouth 1877) in honor of his interest in promoting graduate education in biology. Towards this end, graduate students, faculty, and associates are encouraged to invite creative and productive scholars from other institutions to visit the Department of Biological Sciences at Dartmouth College, present an open seminar, and engage in scientific discussions. Visits are typically a couple of days with a seminar on Friday at 4:00 - 5:00 pm, unless otherwise noted. Fall term 2021 seminars are TBD and may continue Wednesdays at 1:00 - 2:00 pm via Zoom.  A priority of the seminar series is to engage leading scientists from around the world to participate as outside committee members for Ph.D. students in the Department of Biological Sciences. Because interests within the department range from molecules to ecosystems, we also seek guests whose research seminar will be of interest to a diverse community of biologists.

All seminars are held in Room 201 in the Class of 1978 Life Sciences Center unless otherwise noted.

To inquire about scheduling a Cramer Seminar speaker, please contact Prof. Eric Schaller.

 

 

Cramer Series Schedule

Please see the home page events listing for Cramer Series Scheduling or the News and Events page.

Date Time Speaker's Name Topic Host(s)
Wed. 03/31/21 1:00 PM - via Zoom   TBA  
Wed. 04/07/21 1:00 PM - via Zoom   TBA  
Wed. 04/14/21 1:00 PM - via Zoom   TBA  
Wed. 04/21/21 1:00 PM - via Zoom   TBA  
Wed. 04/28/21 1:00 PM - via Zoom   TBA  
Wed. 05/05/21 1:00 PM - via Zoom Kurt Schmoller, Helmholtz Zentrum München Coordination of Protein and Organelle Homeostasis with Cell Size Amanda Amodeo
Wed. 05/12/21 1:00 PM - via Zoom   TBA  
Wed. 05/19/21 1:00 PM - via Zoom   TBA  
Wed. 05/26/21 1:00 PM - via Zoom Etya Amsalem, Penn State University Sterility Inducing Mechanisms in Social Insects Eran Amichai
Fri. 09/17/21 Tentative 4:00 PM   TBA  
Fri. 09/24/21 Tentative 4:00 PM Hold - invitation pending TBA Magdalena Bezanilla
Fri. 10/01/21 Tentative 4:00 PM   TBA  
Fri. 10/08/21 Tentative 4:00 PM Homecoming TBA  
Fri. 10/15/21 Tentative 4:00 PM Daniel Bolnick, University of Connecticut TBA Kathy Cottingham
Fri. 10/22/21 Tentative 4:00 PM Janina Wellmann, Leuphana University TBA Tom Jack
Fri. 10/29/21 Tentative 4:00 PM   TBA  
Fri. 11/05/21 Tentative 4:00 PM   TBA  
Fri. 11/12/21 Tentative 4:00 PM   TBA  
Fri. 01/07/22 Tentative 4:00 PM   TBA  
Fri. 01/14/22 Tentative 4:00 PM   TBA  
Fri. 01/21/22 Tentative 4:00 PM   TBA  
Fri. 01/28/22 Tentative 4:00 PM   TBA  
Fri. 02/04/22 Tentative 4:00 PM   TBA  
Fri. 02/11/22 Tentative 4:00 PM   TBA  
Fri. 02/18/22 Tentative 4:00 PM Hold - EEES Recruiting TBA Matt Ayres
Fri. 02/25/22 Tentative 4:00 PM   TBA  
Fri. 03/04/22 Tentative 4:00 PM   TBA